The McLean County Democratic Party annually hosts a dinner/fundraiser honoring Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt.

Franklin D. Roosevelt was the 32nd President of the United States, architect of the New Deal, and Commander-in-Chief during WWII. He was elected to serve four terms as president, fulfilling 12 years before his death.

Eleanor Roosevelt was an activist First Lady who advocated for democracy, civil rights, and social justice. She also served as the first Chair of the United Nations Human Rights Commission.

Since 2003, the McLean County Democrats have honored the Roosevelts by recognizing one or more members of the local party for Outstanding Service to the party.

By tradition, the Roosevelt Award has been presented to one or more party members who have provided outstanding service to the Party.

Outstanding service is defined as including one or more of the following extraordinary contributions:

  • Increasing party membership and participation;
  • Providing servant leadership throughout committees or party initiatives;
  • Building party unity toward common goals;
  • Demonstrating core democratic values in civil discourse and problem solving;
  • Enhancing membership participation in party activities and work;
  • Supporting Democratic candidates and/or campaigns; and
  • Providing other extraordinary and unique service to the party not defined above.

Nominations must be submitted in writing, by email, to the Chair of the Awards Committee. Nominations should include the name of the nominee, contact information for the nominee, and a written description of the nominee's contributions to the Party.


  • 2003 Laurence Yeast
  • 2004 Francis Irvin
  • 2005 Dorothy Deany
  • 2006 Michael Matejka
  • 2007 John Jordan Moore
  • 2008 Betty Kinser
  • 2010 Carol Reitan
  • 2011 Barb Bialeschi, Bernice Eddy, and Delores Epley
  • 2012 Martin Krutke and Tom Robey
  • 2014 John Whalen
  • 2015 George and Myra Gordon
  • 2016 Marlin Kennedy and William Franski
  • 2017 Ronn Morehead
  • 2018 Jim Larkin
  • 2019 Lola Augstin and Kay Moss
  • 2022 John Penn